Artisans Needed!

Help Us Fabricate Mosaic Art for Library Park…
Leave Behind a Legacy!

Celebrated Pittsburgh artist Laura Jean McLaughlin has designed two fabulous mosaic murals that will become very public, outdoor art in Library Park.  The Library & Music Hall, Carnegie, Pittsburgh and parks everywhere inspired Laura Jean’s art.

The murals will adorn two low walls – 53 and 64 feet long. Park goers will use these walls as benches to eat their lunch, read a book or commune with nature. The walls can be used for outdoor classrooms and they will provide a 117- linear feet wall-walking bonanza for generations of children enjoying Library Park!

Laura Jean needs help fabricating these murals. She is holding ten workshops in the ACFL&MH Studio.  She will teach you what you need to know and provide all the necessary materials. Come as a group, come as a family, come on your own. (Children under 12 must be accompanied by caregivers.)

You can get especially creative in the first two workshops on March 18 and March 22.  Participants will design their own “tokens of happiness” out of high-fired clay that will be incorporated into the finished murals.  (The murals will be predominantly fashioned from imported Italian tiles that you will cut and place.)

Sunday, March 18       1:00 PM – 4:00 PM
Thursday, March 22   6:00 PM – 8:00 PM
Tuesday, March 27     6:00 PM – 8:00 PM
Thursday, April 5        6:00 PM – 8:00 PM
Sunday, April 8            1:00 PM – 4:00 PM
Tuesday, April 10         6:00 PM – 8:00 PM
Sunday, May 6              1:00 PM – 4:00 PM
Tuesday, May 8            6:00 PM – 8:00 PM
Sunday, May 13             1:00 PM – 4:00 PM
Tuesday, May 15           6:00 PM – 8:00 PM

Registration is Free – Call to reserve your spot today!

To Register: Contact Maggie Forbes at 412-276-3456, x 8

We are creating this mosaic together for posterity – please join us!